Michael Oberholtzer and Harvey Fierstein to be Honored at 76th Annual Theatre World Awards | Playbill

Awards Michael Oberholtzer and Harvey Fierstein to be Honored at 76th Annual Theatre World Awards

The winners of this year's Theatre World Awards also include several 2022 Tony nominees.

Michael Oberholtzer and Harvey Fierstein

The Theatre World Awards Board of Directors and The Dorothy Loudon Foundation have announced that Michael Oberholtzer, recently Tony-nominated for his performance as Shane Mungitt in Take Me Out, and four-time Tony winner Harvey Fierstein are being honored at this year's 76th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony. 

The ceremony will take place at Broadway's Circle in the Square Theatre June 6 at 7 PM, hosted by Peter Filichia. Tom D’Angora and Michael D’Angora will direct the event.

Oberholtzer will receive the 13th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater, which recognizes an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The award is named in honor of Tony winner Dorothy Loudon, who made her Broadway debut as Wilma Risque in the original 1962 Broadway production of Nowhere to Go But Up, earning her a Theatre World Ward. Oberholtzer joins the company of other recipients of the award that includes Audra McDonald, Hampton Fluker, Ben Edelman, Katrina Lenk, Nicholas Barasch, Leanne Cope, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Seth Numrich, and Bobby Steggert.

The 9th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will be given to Fierstein, whose works include Torch Song TrilogyLa Cage Aux FollesKinky BootsNewsiesCasa ValentinaA Catered Affair, and Bella Bella. In recognition of Fierstein's lifetime achievements and personal generosity to the theatre community, he receives the award named for John Willis, who founded and maintained Theatre World for 66 years. Previous recipients include André De Shields, Patti LuPone, Nathan Lane, Victor Garber, Glenn Close, Bernadette Peters, Chita Rivera, Christopher Plummer, and Alan Alda.

2022 Theatre World Honorees also include Patrick J. Adams (Take Me Out), Yair Ben-Dor (Prayer for the French Republic), Kearstin Piper Brown (Intimate Apparel), Sharon D Clarke (Caroline, Or Change), Enrico Colantoni (Birthday Candles), Justin Cooley (Kimberly Akimbo), Crystal Finn (Birthday Candles), Gaby French (Hangmen), Myles Frost (MJ The Musical), Jaquel Spivey (A Strange Loop), Shannon Tyo (The Chinese Lady), and Kara Young (Clyde’s) for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance.

The Theatre World Award honorees are chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee, which comprises Linda Armstrong (Amsterdam News), David Cote (The Observer), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News, Emeritus), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus), David Finkle (New York Stage Review), Elysa Gardner (USA Today, Emeritus), Harry Haun (BroadwayWorld), Cary Wong (Freelance), and Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter).

For additional information, visit TheatreWorldAwards.org.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!