National Alliance for Musical Theatre Announces Festival Directors and Music Directors | Playbill

Off-Broadway News National Alliance for Musical Theatre Announces Festival Directors and Music Directors

Broadway, Off-Broadway, and regional talent will helm presentations for the 34th Annual Festival of New Musicals.

The 34th Annual Festival of New Musicals, the industry event presented by the National Alliance for Musical Theatre (NAMT), will be held October 20-21 at Off-Broadway's New World Stages.

Directing the presentations will be May Adrales (Vietgone), Roger Ellis (Fun Home), Asher Lloyd Ehrenberg (Trans Theatre Collective, New York City Center), Richard Israel (Violet), Rachel Klein (Red Roses, Green Gold), Alan Muraoka (Falsettoland), Mei Ann Teo (Where We Belong), and Ann Yee (Caroline, or Change). Paired with them will be music directors Alexander Tom (How the Grinch Stole Christmas), Andrea Grody (The Band's Visit), Lily Ling (Hamilton), Deborah Abramson (Broadbend, Arkansas), Adam Brenner Laird (The Book of Mormon), Adam Cole Klepper (Titanique), Kris Kukul (Beetlejuice), and Julie McBride (Moulin Rouge!), respectively.

Over the course of the two days, eight musicals will receive 45-minute concert presentations, performed for theatre producers and industry professionals. 

This year's musicals include Baked! The Musical, featuring a book, music, and lyrics by Jord Liu and Deepak Kumar; Blackout, which features a book by Steven Gallagher with music and lyrics by Anton Lipovetsky; Get Out Alive, featuring a book and lyrics by Nikki Lynette with music by Lynette, Matt Hennessy, Clay Bail, Malcom Fong, Slavic Livins, and Zeke Macumber; King of Pangaea, featuring a book, music, and lyrics by Martin Storrow; Perpetual Sunshine & the Ghost Girls, with a book and lyrics penned by Sara Cooper and music by Lynne Shankel; Pup! A Chew Story, which features a book and lyrics by Marcus Terrell Smith and music by Robin Schäfer; The Female Pope, featuring music by Heather Christian with lyrics and libretto by Shannon Burkett; and The Pelican, which features a book and lyrics penned by Will Lacker with music and lyrics by Dylan Glatthorn.

Among the titles previously presented at the Festival: Come From Away, Lempicka, The Drowsy Chaperone, Lizard Boy, Benny & Joon, Darling Grenadine, Ordinary Days, Striking 12, It Shoulda Been You, Interstate, and Thoroughly Modern Millie.

NAMT underwrites all production costs for the presentations. Industry professionals are now able to register at


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!