See Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson Visit Opening Night of A.R.T.'s 1776 | Playbill

Related Articles
Regional News See Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson Visit Opening Night of A.R.T.'s 1776

The revival, featuring a cast of female, Non-binary, and Trans performers, opened May 26 at the Cambridge theatre.

Company of A.R.T's 1776 Nile Scott Studios

Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson (associate justice-designate of the U.S. Supreme Court) attended the May 26 opening performance of American Repertory Theater’s revival of 1776With one of the production's opening tableaus inspired by a photo of Judge Jackson at her Supreme Court Senate confirmation hearings, her attendance was particularly significant to the company. Check out photos below of Judge Jackson with the cast, crew, and co-directors Jeffrey L. Page and A.R.T. Terrie and Bradley Bloom Artistic Director Diane Paulus.

The A.R.T./Roundabout Theatre Company revival of 1776 began performances May 17 at Cambridge's American Repertory Theater and officially opened May 26. Following its premiere at A.R.T., 1776 will move to Roundabout’s American Airlines Theatre for a Broadway run before setting out on a 16-city national tour in February 2023.   

The musical—about the founding fathers on the brink of signing the Declaration of Independence—features music and lyrics by Sherman Edwards and a book by Peter Stone, based on a concept by Edwards.

The cast, comprised fully of performers who identify as female, non-binary, and trans, includes Gisela Adisa as Robert Livingston, Nancy Anderson as George Read, Becca Ayers as Col. Thomas McKean, Tiffani Barbour as Andrew McNair, Allison Briner Dardenne as Stephen Hopkins, Allyson Kaye Daniel as Abigail Adams/Rev. Jonathan Witherspoon, Elizabeth A. Davis as Thomas Jefferson, Mehry Eslaminia as Charles Thomson, Joanna Glushak as John Dickinson, Shawna Hamic as Richard Henry Lee, Eryn LeCroy as Martha Jefferson/Dr. Lyman Hall, Crystal Lucas-Perry as John Adams, Liz Mikel as John Hancock, Patrena Murray as Benjamin Franklin, Oneika Philliips as Joseph Hewes, Lulu Picart as Samuel Chase, Sara Porkalob as Edward Rutledge, Sushma Saha as Judge James Wilson, Brooke Simpson as Roger Sherman, Salome Smith as the Courier, Sav Souza as Dr. Josiah Bartlett, Jill Vallery as Caesar Rodney, and Rose Van Dyne, Grace Stockdale, Ariella Serur, Sabrina K. Victor, and Imani Pearl Williams serving as standbys.

See Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson Visit Opening Night of A.R.T.'s 1776


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!