Inside the 2019 Outer Critics Circle Awards | Playbill

Awards Inside the 2019 Outer Critics Circle Awards The celebration of this year's winners was held at Sardi's on May 23.
Bryan Cranston Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The winners of the 69th annual Outer Critics Circle Awards were celebrated May 23 at Sardi's Restaurant. Anaïs Mitchell's Tony-nominated folk opera Hadestown led the pack with six wins (out of 12 nominations), including Outstanding New Broadway Musical, while Jez Butterworth's The Ferryman took home the award for Outstanding New Broadway Play. Other winners included Bryan Cranston (Outstanding Actor in a Play, Network), Stephanie J. Block (Outstanding Actress in a Musical, The Cher Show), Elaine May (Outstanding Actress in a Play, The Waverly Gallery), and Santino Fontana (Outstanding Actor in a Musical, Tootsie).

The organization of writers covering New York theatre for out-of-town newspapers, national publications, and other media beyond Broadway also gave Special Achievement Awards to The Puppetry Team that created and operates King Kong on Broadway, and to The York Theatre Company (James Morgan, Producing Artistic Director and Evans Haile, Executive Director) in recognition of their 50th anniversary.

Flip through photos from the celebration below:

Photos: 2019 Outer Critics Circle Awards


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!