MJ Broadway Cast Album to Release in July | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums MJ Broadway Cast Album to Release in July

The biomusical, with a book by two-time Pulitzer winner Lynn Nottage, opened February 1 at the Neil Simon Theatre.

Myles Frost Matthew Murphy

An original Broadway cast album for 2022 Best Musical Tony nominee MJ will release digitally and as a physical CD July 15 from Sony Music. To pre-order, click here.

Inspired by the life and art of the late Michael Jackson, MJ opened on Broadway at the Neil Simon Theatre February 1, after beginning previews December 6, 2021. Myles Frost makes his Broadway debut as the titular King of Pop in the biomusical featuring a book by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner Lynn Nottage and a score made up of some of the most popular songs in recording history. Tony winner Christopher Wheeldon directs and choreographs.

The work is nominated for 10 2022 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Leading Actor in a Musical (Frost), Book of a Musical (Nottage), Scenic Design (Derek McLane and Peter Nigrini), Costume Design (Paul Tazewell), Lighting Design (Natasha Katz), Sound Design (Gareth Owen), Direction and Choreography (Wheeldon), and Orchestrations (Jason Michael Webb and David Holcenberg). Winners will be announced June 12 at Radio City Music Hall. Check Playbill for full coverage.

Christian Wilson, who alternates with Walter Russell III as Little Michael at the Neil Simon, will be featured on the cast album.

Also in the cast are Quentin Earl Darrington as Joseph Jackson and Rob, Whitney Bashor as Rachel, Gabriel Ruiz as Alejandro, Antoine L. Smith as Berry Gordy and Nick, Joey Sorge as Dave, John Edwards as Jackie Jackson, Ayana George as Katherine Jackson, Apollo Levine as Quincy Jones and Tito Jackson, Tavon Olds-Sample as Michael, Lamont Walker II as Jermaine Jackson, Zelig Williams as Marlon Jackson, and Devin Trey Campbell as Little Marlon Jackson.

MJ features sets by Derek McLane, lighting by Natasha Katz, costumes by Paul Tazewell, sound design by Gareth Owen, projection design by Peter Nigrini, hair and wig design by Charles LaPointe, music direction by Jason Michael Webb, musical supervision by David Holcenberg, and orchestrations by Holcenberg and Webb. Casting is by Rachel Hoffman of The Telsey Office.

MJ's Broadway album has been recorded at Power Station at BerkleeNYC, and is produced by David Holcenberg and Jason Michael Webb, and co-produced by Derik Lee. Lia Vollack, John Branca, and John McClain serve as executive producers.

Take a look at the track listing:
1. Beat It
2. Jackson 5 Medley (The Love You Save / I Want You Back / ABC)
3. I'll Be There
4. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough / Blame It On The Boogie / Dancing Machine
5. Stranger In Moscow
6. You Can't Win
7. I Can't Help It
8. Keep The Faith
9. Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
10. Earth Song / They Don't Care About Us
11. Billie Jean
12. Smooth Crimina
13. Victory Tour (For The Love Of Money / Can You Feel It)
14. Keep The Faith (Reprise)
15. She's Out Of My Life
16. Human Nature
17. Bad / 2 Bad
18. Thriller
19. Man In The Mirror
20. Finale (Jam / Black Or White / Wanna Be Startin' Somethin')


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!