Lorna Courtney, John-Michael Lyles, Alex Newell, More Are Part of Broadway Celebrates Juneteenth Concert June 19 | Playbill

Concerts Lorna Courtney, John-Michael Lyles, Alex Newell, More Are Part of Broadway Celebrates Juneteenth Concert June 19

The free Times Square concert will also feature a performance by Deborah Cox to honor Juneteenth Legacy Award winner Phylicia Rashad.

Lorna Courtney, John-Michael Lyles, and Alex Newell

The annual Broadway Celebrates Juneteenth concert is presented June 19 in Times Square, rain or shine, beginning at 11 AM. Michael James Scott hosts.

The 90-minute concert, produced by the Broadway League’s Black to Broadway initiative, includes the presentation of the Juneteenth Legacy Award to Tony winner Phylicia Rashad. Deborah Cox, currently starring as Glinda in the Broadway revival of The Wiz, will perform her chart-topping hit "Nobody's Supposed to Be Here" in honor of Rashad’s award.

The fourth annual concert features more than 35 performers from the following 17 Broadway shows: Aladdin; & Juliet; Back to the Future: The Musical; Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club; Chicago; Harry Potter and the Cursed Child; The Heart of Rock and Roll; Hell’s Kitchen; Illinoise; The Lion King; MJ; Moulin Rouge! The Musical; The Notebook; Suffs; Water for Elephants; The Who’s Tommy; and The Wiz; plus the return of the kids of Young Gifted and Broadway.

Artists set to perform include Blu Allen, Donovan Louis Bazemore, Jace Bently, Ronnie S. Bowman Jr., Maya Boyd, Tsilala Brock, Max Chambers, Taylor Colleton, Jay Copeland, Lorna Courtney, Charity Angél Dawson, Mariama Diop, Desmond Sean Ellington, Will Ervin Jr., Jerome Hermann-Hardeman, Dorian Harewood, Jackson Hayes, Najah Hetsberger, Afra Hines, Manny Houston, Jaylen Lyndon Hunter, Bre Jackson, Polanco Jones Jr., John-Michael Lyles, Mehret Marsh, Deja McNair, Alex Newell, Veronica Otim, Cristina Raé, Jelani Remy, William Rhem Jr., Albert Rhodes Jr., Walter Russell III, Antoine L. Smith, Nia Thompson, Lamont Walker II, Rachel Webb, NaTasha Yvette Williams, and Hailee Kaleem Wright.

The performances are accompanied by live music thanks to The Music Performance Trust Fund and the Film Funds. American Sign Language interpretation will also be provided.

The creative and production teams for Broadway Celebrates Juneteenth include director and writer Steve H. Broadnax III, music director Rashad McPherson, executive producers Brian Anthony Moreland and Aaliytha Stevens, stage manager Monet Thibou, and general manager Devon Miller of Foresight Theatrical.

Joining The Broadway League in partnership for Broadway Celebrates Juneteenth are Black Theatre United, Black Theatre Coalition, The New York Times, and the Times Square Alliance.

The goal of Black to Broadway is to inspire deeper engagement with awareness of, and access to, Broadway for all Black people. Visit Diversity.Broadway.

See Leslie Uggams, Ben Vereen, Joaquina Kalukango, Myles Frost, More Celebrate Juneteenth in Times Square

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!