Ensemble Studio Theatre Reveals Full Casting for 38th Marathon of One-Act Plays | Playbill

Off-Broadway News Ensemble Studio Theatre Reveals Full Casting for 38th Marathon of One-Act Plays

See who will star in the festival, curated by Mike Lew and Colette Robert, featuring entirely BIPOC artists.

Mike Lew and Colette Robert

Ensemble Studio Theatre's 38th Marathon of One-Act Plays has announced full casting for the 11 plays being presented as part of the marathon. The festival, curated by Co-Artistic Directors Mike Lew (Teenage Dick) and Colette Robert (Behind the Sheet) and celebrating the work of BIPOC artists, will run October 16-November 13.

Ten plays will be presented across two different series from at Ensemble Studio Theatre's Mainstage, with an 11th play to be streamed in collaboration with Perseverance Theatre. All of this year's works and their directors have previously been announced.

Series A will star Catalina Chang, Brenda Crawley, José Espinosa, Daniela Gonzalez y Perez, Ethan Joseph, Denise Manning, Marcus Naylor, Ashley Marie Ortiz (amo), Roudlerson Calvin Pierre, Cristina Pitter, Justin Rodriguez, Deandre Sevon, Mark Vaughn, Ed Ventura, Eric R. Williams, Jo Yang, and the voice of William Jackson Harper.

Starring in Series B will be Biko, Ashley Bufkin, David Cork, Sydney Lolita Cusic, Will Dagger, Alisha Espinosa, Fernando Gonzalez, Sarah Nina Hayon, Kai Heath, Kendyl Ito, Margaret Odette, and Monique Robinson.

The cast for Yan Tután, to be streamed October 23-November 13, will feature Chloey Kiawk Shaa Cavanaugh, Davina Cole, Ernestine Hayes, Jared Olin, Alfie "Shiggoap" Price, Jamiann S'eiltin, Andrew Tripp, and Xáalnook Erin Tripp.

This year's marathon is entirely by BIPOC artists—from playwrights and directors to designers and technicians. The biennial festival began in 1977, and has featured works by Horton Foote, Romulus Linney, Christopher Durang, Richard Greenberg, Aaron Sorkin, Julia Cho, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Amy Herzog, Qui Nguyen, Taylor Mac, and more. In 2015, Martyna Majok presented her play Cost of Living, which went on to win the 2018 Pulitzer Prize. The work began its debut Broadway run September 13 at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre.

For more information, visit EnsembleStudioTheatre.org.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!