Theatre Aspen Reveals Inaugural Solo Flights Grant Recipients | Playbill

Regional News Theatre Aspen Reveals Inaugural Solo Flights Grant Recipients

The chosen playwrights will receive $10,000 to support further development of their pieces.

Colorado's Theatre Aspen has announced that Avaaz by Michael Shayan and Sally: A Solo Play by Sandra Seaton have received the inaugural grants from the Solo Flights Project Advancement Fund. Each playwright will receive a $10,000 grant to support further development.

Solo Flights, an annual week long development festival that began in 2019, presented one-person shows in the beginning stages of development. Participating artists have included Beau Bridges, Kaye Winks, Sarah Stiles, Christine Quintana, Emma Ramos, Richard Greenberg, Lameece Issaq, Kate Baldwin, Taylor Trensch, James Naughton, Johanna Day, and more, with directors including Tyne Rafaeli, Tony Taccone, Lisa Peterson, Hunter Foster, and Melia Bensussen.

The selection panel for this year’s grants was composed of distinguished members from various corners of the entertainment industry, featuring The Washington Post’s chief theater critic Peter Marks, Golden Globe and two-time NAACP Image Award winning actress and playwright Regina Taylor, and film producer Isaac Klausner.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!