The Wiz Live! Wins Two NAACP Image Awards | Playbill

News The Wiz Live! Wins Two NAACP Image Awards The Wiz Live!, NBC-TV's Dec. 3 television event based on the 1975 Tony-winning Broadway musical The Wiz, earned two NAACP Image Awards Feb. 5.

The Wiz Live! was named Outstanding Television Movie, Miniseries or Dramatic Special, and co-star David Alan Grier won the award for his performance as the Cowardly Lion. 

Check here for a complete list of the nominees of the 47th annual awards. Winners in several categories were announced in advance. The rest of the awards are being given in a ceremony Feb. 5 at 8 PM ET/7 PM CT, hosted by Anthony Anderson.

Other Broadway veterans among the nominees include Tony winners Viola Davis and Phylicia Rashad, plus Sanaa Lathan, Misty Copeland, Forest Whitaker, Jennifer Hudson and others.

First Look Inside Dress Rehearsal for The Wiz Live!

Led by newcomer Shanice Williams in the role of Dorothy, The Wiz Live! was seen by 11.5 million viewers, averaging a 3.4 rating among adults 18-49.

The Wiz cast featured Stephanie Mills as Aunt Em, Queen Latifah as The Wiz, Mary J. Blige as Evillene, David Alan Grier as The Cowardly Lion, Uzo Aduba as Glinda, Amber Riley as Addaperle, Ne-Yo as the Tin Man, Elijah Kelley as the Scarecrow, Common as Bouncer and 18-year-old newcomer Williams as Dorothy.

Kenny Leon directed The Wiz Live!; Harvey Fierstein adapted the book for TV. This latest incarnation of The Wiz is also on track for a full-scale Broadway revival next year.

Stephen Oremus served as music director for The Wiz. Fatima Robinson ("Dreamgirls") choreographed the production, and Harvey Mason Jr. ("Dreamgirls," "Pitch Perfect 2") served as music producer.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!