T.R. Knight, David Burtka, Natalie Walker, More Join The 24 Hour Plays: New Victory | Playbill

Education News T.R. Knight, David Burtka, Natalie Walker, More Join The 24 Hour Plays: New Victory

The one-night-only event will feature seven short plays written by NYC students in 24 hours.

The 24 Hour Plays and New Victory Theater have announced The 24 Hours Plays: New Victory is set for May 4. Established in 1995, The 24 Hour Plays bring together a group of artists to produce theatrical works which are written, rehearsed, and performed in 24 hours.

The one-night-only event, held at the New Victory Theater, will feature works by seven New York City students who are participating in the creative writing program Speak Up, Act Out: Celebrating Student Voices. The student playwrights include Annabelle Borsanyi, Jeury Cortorreal, Celestine Deato, Amanda C. Deliz, Zion Park, Emma Perez Maturen, and Adaa Rahul.

Performers set to appear include T.R. Knight, David Burtka, Amy Hargreaves, Russell G. Jones, Olli Haaskivi, Haskiri Velazquez, Mirirai Sithole, Natalie Walker, Heath Saunders, Marcia DeBonis, Ray Anthony Thomas, Alex Hernandez, Brett Epstein, with more to be announced.

The selected students previously participated in a series of developmental workshops to strengthen their dramatic writing skills, with guidance from mentors including Chisa Hutchinson, Dylan Guerra, Lily Houghton, Danny Tejera, Tasha Gordon-Solmon, SMJ, and Marissa Joyce Stamps. Each student will also be paired with one of the professional playwrights to receive one-on-one mentorship, dramaturgical input, and additional resources as they write.

Visit 24HourPlays.org.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!