Stage Alums Frances McDormand and Allison Janney Earn SAG Awards Following Golden Globe Wins | Playbill

Awards Stage Alums Frances McDormand and Allison Janney Earn SAG Awards Following Golden Globe Wins Frozen favorite and Broadway alum Kristen Bell hosted the 24th annual ceremony.
Frances McDormand in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri Derrick Morton/Twentieth Century Fox

Tony Award winner Frances McDormand and Tony nominee Allison Janney both earned more accolades for their respective performances in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and I, Tonya at the 2018 Screen Actors Guild Awards, presented January 21.

Allison Janney in I, Tonya NEON

McDormand, a Tony winner for Good People, and Janney, who last appeared on Broadway in the 2017 revival of Six Degrees of Separation, both recently picked up Golden Globes and myriad regional critics association awards for their portrayals of Mildred, a grieving mother who takes matters into her own hand in the wake of a failing police investigation, and Tonya Harding’s overbearing and abusive mother LaVona Golden.

Kristen Bell (Frozen, The Good Place) hosted the 24th annual ceremony, which was broadcast live on TNT and TBS.

Additional Broadway alums to earn SAG Awards include Sam Rockwell for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Nicole Kidman for HBO’s Big Little Lies, and William H. Macy for Showtime’s Shameless. Rockwell and Kidman has previously received Golden Globes for their work, with the latter completing the small screen hat-trick with an Emmy win last year.

Ensemble awards went to the companies of the Bernard Telsey-cast This Is Us (including Chrissy Metz, soon to make her professional stage debut in Fat Pig at the Geffen Playhouse), Veep (featuring Anna Chlumsky, currently appearing Off-Broadway in Cardinal), and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (with McDormand and Rockwell sharing the award with eight others).

EGOT recipient Rita Moreno made a special appearance to present fellow legendary performer (and Tony nominee) Morgan Freeman with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Freeman had done the same for Moreno in 2014.

Click here for the full list of winners.

Corey Hawkins, Allison Janney, and John Benjamin Hickey Take the Stage in Six Degrees of Separation

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!