Sharon D Clarke, Patrick J. Adams, Jaquel Spivey, More Are 2022 Theatre World Award Winners | Playbill

Awards Sharon D Clarke, Patrick J. Adams, Jaquel Spivey, More Are 2022 Theatre World Award Winners

The 76th Annual Theatre World Awards will be presented in June during an in-person ceremony at Broadway's Circle in the Square Theatre.

Sharon D Clarke, Patrick J. Adams, and Jaquel Spivey

Honorees for the 76th Annual Theatre World Awards, which will be presented June 6 at 7 PM at Broadway's Circle in the Square Theatre, have been announced.

This year's honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance follow:

Patrick J. Adams, Take Me Out
Yair Ben-Dor, Prayer for the French Republic
Kearstin Piper Brown, Intimate Apparel
Sharon D Clarke, Caroline, Or Change
Enrico Colantoni, Birthday Candles
Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo
Crystal Finn, Birthday Candles
Gaby French, Hangmen
Myles Frost, MJ The Musical
Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop
Shannon Tyo, The Chinese Lady
Kara Young, Clyde’s

Honorees for the 13th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater and the 9th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will be announced shortly.

Hosted by theatre journalist Peter Filichia, the ceremony will be directed by Tom D’Angora and Michael D’Angora.

The Theatre World Award honorees are chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee: Linda Armstrong (Amsterdam News), David Cote (The Observer), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News, Emeritus), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus), David Finkle (New York Stage Review), Elysa Gardner (USA Today, Emeritus), Harry Haun (The Observer), Cary Wong (Freelance), and Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter).

The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors, who will produce the upcoming ceremony, is headed by Dale Badway (President) with Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Michael Koste (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde (Secretary), The Honorable Ilene Zatkin-Butler (Treasurer), James Sheridan, and Karen Johnston.

First presented in 1945, the awards, founded by John Willis, are the oldest given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances. The ceremony is a private, invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!