Sarah Paulson Wins Drama League Award; See the Full List of Winners | Playbill

Related Articles
Awards Sarah Paulson Wins Drama League Award; See the Full List of Winners

Winners of the 2024 Drama League Awards were named May 17 at The Ziegfeld Ballroom.

Sarah Paulson Valerie Terranova

Winners of the 90th Annual Drama League Awards were named May 17 in a ceremony at The Ziegfeld Ballroom hosted by Frank DiLella. Appropriate star and 2024 Tony Award nominee Sarah Paulson took the Distinguished Performance Award, an honor that actors are only ever eligible to win once in their career.

Stereophonic won Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway play, with Appropriate winning Play Revival. Hell's Kitchen was the winner of Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical, with Merrily We Roll Along taking Musical Revival. All four productions are nominated in their respective categories for the 2024 Tony Awards as well.

The Drama League also honors directors, with Daniel Aukin and Maria Friedman winning for directing Stereophonic and Merrily We Roll Along, respectively.

The full list of winners and nominees is below.

As previously announced, the Drama League also bestowed non-competitive special recognitions at the 2024 ceremony. Jonathan Groff received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award, with Schele Williams receiving the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, Jessica Lange the Contribution to the Theater Award, and Kandi Burruss the Gratitude Award.

Notably, Here We Are, the final Sondheim musical that posthumously premiered last year Off-Broadway at The Shed, was not considered for this year's awards at the request of the production. Broadway's Appropriate and Mary Jane were both ruled revivals since they are being presented on Broadway with "substantially different production elements" compared to the works' Off-Broadway premieres, whereas The Prayer for the French Republic and Suffs were ruled transfers, making them eligible in the Outstanding Production categories.

Outstanding Production of a Play
The Comeuppance
Grief Hotel
The Hunt
Jaja's African Hair Braiding
Mother Play
Oh, Mary!
Prayer for the French Republic
WINNER - Stereophonic

Wet Brain

Outstanding Revival of a Play
An Enemy of the People
WINNER - Appropriate
Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
Doubt: A Parable
The Effect
Mary Jane
Our Class
Purlie Victorious: A Non-Confederate Romp Through the Cotton Patch
Uncle Vanya
The White Chip

Outstanding Production of a Musical
Buena Vista Social Club
Dead Outlaw

The Heart of Rock and Roll
WINNER - Hell's Kitchen
The Notebook
The Outsiders
Water for Elephants

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
Gutenberg! The Musical!
Here Lies Love
I Can Get It For You Wholesale
WINNER - Merrily We Roll Along
The Who's Tommy
The Wiz

Outstanding Direction of a Play
Tara Ahmadinejad, Grief Hotel
Winner - Daniel Aukin, Stereophonic

Sam Gold, An Enemy of The People
Rupert Goold, The Hunt
Rupert Goold, Patriots
Jamie Lloyd, The Effect
Lila Neugebauer, Appropriate
Lila Neugebauer, Uncle Vanya
Sam Pinkleton, Oh, Mary!
Eric Ting, The Comeuppance
Whitney White, Jaja’s African Hair Braiding

Outstanding Direction of a Musical
Saheem Ali, Buena Vista Social Club
Sarah Benson, Teeth
David Cromer, Dead Outlaw
Rebecca Frecknall, Cabaret
WINNER - Maria Friedman, Merrily We Roll Along

Des McAnuff, The Who’s Tommy
Leigh Silverman, Suffs
Alex Timbers, Gutenberg! The Musical!
Alex Timbers, Here Lies Love

Distinguished Performance
Betsy Aidem, Prayer for the French Republic
Shoshana Bean, Hell's Kitchen
Gabby Beans, Jonah
Joshua Boone, The Outsiders
Ali Louis Bourzgui, The Who’s Tommy
Steve Carell, Uncle Vanya
Jenn Colella, Suffs
Danny DeVito, I Need That
Caleb Eberhardt, The Comeuppance and An Enemy of the People
Alex Edelman, Just for Us
Cole Escola, Oh, Mary!
Eden Espinosa, The Gardens of Anuncia and Lempicka
Paapa Essiedu, The Effect
Melissa Etheridge, Melissa Etheridge: My Window
Laurence Fishburne, Like They Do in the Movies
Josh Gad, Gutenberg! The Musical!
Eli Gelb, Stereophonic
Brody Grant, The Outsiders
Jonathan Groff, Merrily We Roll Along
Dorian Harewood, The Notebook
Willam Jackson Harper, Primary Trust and Uncle Vanya
Amber Iman, Lempicka
Eddie Izzard, Hamlet
Nikki M. James, Suffs
Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer, Spamalot
Jessica Lange, Mother Play
Kecia Lewis, Hell’s Kitchen
Nichelle Lewis, The Wiz
Maribel Martinez, Bees and Honey
Rachel McAdams, Mary Jane
Lindsay Mendez, Merrily We Roll Along
Tobias Menzies, The Hunt
Cynthia Nixon, The Seven Year Disappear
Eva Noblezada, The Great Gatsby
Kelli O'Hara, Days of Wine and Roses
Leslie Odom, Jr., Purlie Victorious, A Non-Confederate Romp Through The Cotton Patch
Patrick Page, All the Devils Are Here: How Shakespeare Invented The Villain
Nicole Ari Parker, The Refuge Plays
Jim Parsons, Mother Play
WINNER - Sarah Paulson, Appropriate

Sarah Pidgeon, Stereophonic
Aubrey Plaza, Danny and The Deep Blue Sea
Maryann Plunkett, The Notebook
Daniel Radcliffe, Merrily We Roll Along
Gayle Rankin, Cabaret
Andrew Rannells, Gutenberg! The Musical!
Eddie Redmayne, Cabaret
Conrad Ricamora, Here Lies Love and Oh, Mary!
Corey Stoll, Appropriate
Michael Stuhlbarg, Patriots
Jeremy Strong, An Enemy of the People
Zenzi Williams, Jaja's African Hair Braiding
Kara Young, Purlie Victorious: A Non-Confederate Romp Through The Cotton Patch
Jehan O. Young, The Cotillion

The Drama League also acknowledges exemplary work for the following previous recipients of the Distinguished Performance Award, who are therefore ineligible to win or be nominated in the category again:

Alfred Molina, Uncle Vanya
Bebe Neuwirth, Cabaret
Liev Schreiber, Doubt: A Parable

This year's event co-chairs are Bonnie Comley and Darin Oduyoye. The Steering Committee is Trish Chambers, Jonathan Demar, Irene Gandy, Sarah Hutton, Kirk Iwanowski, Mary Jain, Paula Kaminsky Davis, Fred Siegel, and Kumiko Yoshii.

Photos: 2024 Drama League Awards

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!