Ray Shell, Ruthie Henshall, Kelly Price, Dean John-Wilson Cast in Re-Imagined Passion at U.K.'s Hope Mill Theatre | Playbill

International News Ray Shell, Ruthie Henshall, Kelly Price, Dean John-Wilson Cast in Re-Imagined Passion at U.K.'s Hope Mill Theatre

The Tony-winning Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine musical will begin performances in May.

From left: Ray Shell, Ruthie Henshall, Kelly Price, Dean John-Wilson Mark Senior

Casting is now complete for the re-imagined version of Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine's Tony-winning Passion that will play Manchester's Hope Mill Theatre this spring. Directed by Michael Strassen with movement direction by Sundeep Saini, the production will run May 5–June 5. Opening night is set for May 10.

Joining the previously announced Olivier winner Ruthie Henshall (Chicago, She Loves Me, Putting It Together) as Fosca will be Dean John-Wilson (Aladdin) as Giorgio and Kelly Price (Aspects of Love) as Clara with Adam Robert Lewis (The Phantom of the Opera), Charlie Waddell (South Pacific), Danny Whitehead (Wicked), Dalton Harris (The X Factor), Ray Shell (Starlight Express), Steve Watts (As You Like It), and Tim Walton (Matilda The Musical).

Henshall said in an earlier statement, "Passion is a deep exploration of what it is to love and be loved; if that wasn’t enough, the score is some of the best musical theatre ever written. To be able to develop this show in such an intimate space and alongside one of my dearest friends, Michael Strassen, only makes this production an even more rare and exciting event."

The upcoming production will also have orchestrations by Stuart Barr, musical supervision by Paul Schofield, musical direction by Yshani Perinpanayagam, set and costume design by Elin Steele, lighting design by Charles M. Jones, and sound design by Dan Samson. Casting is by Rob Kelly.

Based on Ettore Scola's Italian film Passion d'Amore, Passion opened on Broadway on May 9, 1994, with a cast that featured Donna Murphy as Fosca, Jere Shea as Giorgio, and the late Marin Mazzie as Clara. The tale of obsessive love includes such Sondheim tunes as "Happiness," "I Read," "I Wish I Could Forget You," "Loving You," and "No One Has Ever Loved Me." The original Broadway production received the 1994 Tony Award for Best Musical; Murphy also earned her first Tony for Best Actress in a Musical, and Sondheim and Lapine were awarded prizes for, respectively, Best Original Score and Best Book of a Musical.

Producers are Thomas Hopkins, Guy Chapman, Schofield, and Henshall.

Visit PassionMusical.com.

Production Photos: Passion on Broadway

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!