Photos: Go Inside Signature Theatre's 2024 Gala With Appropriate Cast and More | Playbill

Photos Photos: Go Inside Signature Theatre's 2024 Gala With Appropriate Cast and More

The evening honored director Lila Neugebauer as well as Paige Evans, the company's outgoing artistic director.

Josh Hamilton, Crystal Dickinson, Phillip James Brannon, Natalie Gold, Corey Stoll, Sarah Paulson, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, and Lila Neugebauer HanJie Chow

Signature Theatre’s 2024 Gala, held June 3 at the Pershing Square Signature Center, honored director Lila Neugebauer, represented on Broadway this season with Appropriate and the revival of Uncle Vanya.

At Signature, where Neugebauer is now a Trustee, she has directed plays by Edward Albee, Annie Baker, Maria Irene Fornés, A.R. Gurney, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, and Adrienne Kennedy.

At the gala, for which Appropriate Associate Director Laura Dupper was creative consultant and director, Neugebauer was celebrated by numerous collaborators, including Appropriate cast members Michael Esper, Natalie Gold, Sarah Paulson, and Corey Stoll; Appropriate playwright Branden Jacobs-Jenkins; performers from her production of Annie Baker’s The Antipodes at Signature, including Phillip James Brannon and Josh Hamilton; Crystal Dickinson, who performed in the Signature Plays that Neugebauer directed; Heidi Schreck, who wrote a new translation for the Neugebauer-directed Uncle Vanya; Zoe Kazan, whose play After the Blast Neugebauer directed, and Cristin Milioti, who performed in the production; Lucas Hedges, who performed in Neugebauer’s Broadway production of Kenneth Lonergan’s The Waverly Gallery; and members of The Mad Ones, the devised theatre company she co-founded (currently in residence at Signature).

Paige Evans, Signature’s outgoing artistic director, was also celebrated at the event, including toasts from Dave Malloy and Three Houses director Annie Tippe. Evans has led the organization since 2016, producing eight seasons of acclaimed productions.

The gala co-chairs were Doug and Kathy Chittenden, Bruce Goldfarb and Ellen McCabe, Nina B. Matis and Alan Gosule, and Edward Skyler. The gala was sponsored by Citi.

Check out photos from the evening—which included a cocktail hour, performances, tributes, a live auction, and dinner—in the gallery below:

Photos: Signature Theatre's 2024 Gala

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!