Obie Awards Reveal New Judges, Eligibility Window | Playbill

Awards Obie Awards Reveal New Judges, Eligibility Window

Dede Ayite, Ty Defoe, Dael Orlandersmith, and more are joining the panel.

Dede Ayite attends the 2022 American Theatre Wing Gala Bruce Glikas/Getty Images for American Theatre Wing

The Obie Awards, administered by the American Theatre Wing, have revealed a new panel of judges and eligibility details for the current season. The annual honors recognize the best in Off- and Off-Off-Broadway.

Newly joining the judges panel are costume designer Dede Ayite, writer Ty Defoe, intimacy coordinator Ann C. James, actor-writer-performance artist Florencia Lozano, playwright Dael Orlandersmith, and performance artist Carmelita Tropicana. Continuing with the panel are scenic designer Wilson Chin and playwright Haruna Lee.

Shows that opened between September 1, 2022, and August 31, 2023, will be eligible for the upcoming 67th Annual Obie Awards, with a ceremony date to be announced.

“Off- and Off-Off-Broadway are the ground floor of innovation in the theatre and a critical content pipeline to Broadway and regional theatre,” says American Theatre Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens. “The theatres and theatre artists that make up Off- and Off-Off-Broadway help define and support the social and economic infrastructure of our diverse New York City neighborhoods.”

“This year's judges represent some of the incredible talent that Off- Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway has nurtured," adds David Mendizábal, who co-chairs the awards with Melissa Rose Bernardo. "With a diversity of perspectives in terms of form, aesthetics, and artistic medium, collectively, the judges’ artistic achievements span decades as impactful New York theatremakers working in the American theatre."


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!