Larry Owens, The Kilbanes, More Receive 2023 Jonathan Larson Grants | Playbill

Awards Larry Owens, The Kilbanes, More Receive 2023 Jonathan Larson Grants

The group will be honored at a March 25 concert showcasing grant winners from the past four years.

Larry Owens Michaelah Reynolds

The American Theatre Wing has revealed the Jonathan Larson Grant recipients for 2023, an esteemed award that comes with a $12,500 unrestricted grant and a $2,085 Saw Island Foundation Recording Grant.

The 2023 recipients are Daniel Henri Emond (Kill the Whale), Julian Hornik (Tenn), The Kilbanes (Weightless), Larry Owens (Sondheimia), Veronica Mansour (Lighthouse), and the Playbill Songwriter series alum songwriting team of Jacinta Clusellas, Tatiana Pandiani, and Melis Aker (Azul).

Along with the cash grants, Larson Grant recipients will receive further opportunities, including residencies, via a new partnership between the American Theatre Wing and the American Music Theatre Project at Northwestern University.

The 2023 recipients, along with those from the last four years, will be celebrated at a special concert planned for March 25 at Florence Gould Hall. Tickets for this event are currently available on a pay-what-you-can scale here.

"This year’s recipients are a dynamic group of artists—reflecting a breadth of life experience, creativity, and ingenuity," says Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens in a statement. "Our panel of artists and industry professionals went through hundreds of worthy applicants, and these recipients exhibited astounding talent and skill. We’re also thrilled to present a special concert this March, showcasing the new class of recipients—in addition to those from 2022, 2021, and 2020, who won their grants during a time of uncertainty for this industry, in the wake of a global pandemic. These incredible artists are the next generation of theatre and culture-makers, and we cannot wait to see their work on stage! It will be a night to remember."

This new crop of Larson Grant recipients were chosen by a panel comprising agent Ben Sands, writer-performer Eisa Davis, agent Kevin Lin, director Leigh Silverman, and actor Shoshana Bean. The panel also selected five finalists to receive $1,000 honorable mention awards: Eric Cross, Christine Toy Johnson, Preston Max Allen, Ethan Lipton, and Miller and Harlow.

Previous grant recipients include Grace McLean (In the Green), Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin (The Prom, Elf), Shaina Taub (Suffs), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land), Laurence O’Keefe (Legally Blonde: The Musical), Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Dave Malloy (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Amanda Green (Hands on a Hardbody), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop), and more.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!