Two Women Share First Playwright Award in Honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman | Playbill

News Two Women Share First Playwright Award in Honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman The American Playwriting Foundation has announced that two female playwrights will share the first Relentless Award, established in honor of the late Philip Seymour Hoffman. Clare Barron and Sarah DeLappe will share the $45,000 award, the largest annual cash prize in American theatre awarded to a playwright in recognition of a new play.

According to the announcement, Barron's Dance Nation is "a play about ambition, competition, and growing up – and how we find our souls in the heat of it all;" and DeLappe's The Wolves is focused on a girls indoor soccer team.

In addition to the cash prize, the winning writers will also receive a week-long residency at SPACE on Ryder Farm, an artist residency program in Brewster, NY, with the option to further develop the works; as well as the opportunity to have their plays published by the Dramatists Play Service. 

More than 2,000 plays were submitted for the inaugural prize, which was established by APF in honor of stage and screen actor Hoffman's "pursuit of truth in the theater." Only plays that had not yet been produced were eligible for the award.

The two finalists, Jake Jeppson, for #Bros and Liza Birkenmeier for Radio Island will each receive $1,000.

The play selection committee was comprised of Eric Bogosian, Thomas Bradshaw, APF executive director David Bar Katz, Lynn Nottage, John Ortiz, Jonathan Marc Sherman and Lucy Thurber.  For more information on the award visit

The Academy Award-winning stage and screen actor who brought his own unique presence and deep-delving intelligence to his every role, died Feb. 2, 2014. 

Remembering Tony Nominee Philip Seymour Hoffman

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!