Looking Back at Neil Patrick Harris and Lena Hall in Hedwig and the Angry Inch

From the Archives   Looking Back at Neil Patrick Harris and Lena Hall in Hedwig and the Angry Inch
The Stephen Trask-John Cameron Mitchell musical opened on Broadway April 22, 2014.

Before they won Tony Awards for their work in Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Neil Patrick Harris and Lena Hall sat down with Playbill to discuss bringing the cult hit to Broadway for the very first time. Watch the video above!

Directed by Michael Mayer and opening at the Belasco Theatre April 22, 2014, the show earned Tony Awards for Harris, Hall, and Best Revival of a Musical. Harris was later replaced by Andrew Rannells, Michael C. Hall, co-creator John Cameron Mitchell, Darren Criss, and Taye Diggs; Rebecca Naomi Jones joined the show as Yitzhak after Hall left in 2015.

READ: Hedwig Turns 20—An Interactive Timeline

Hedwig featured musical staging by Emmy Award nominee Spencer Liff (Head Over Heels) and musical direction by Justin Craig. The creative team included scenic designer Julian Crouch, costume designer Arianne Phillips, lighting designer Kevin Adams, hair and makeup designer Mike Potter, sound designer Timothy O'Heir, musical supervisor Ethan Popp, projection designer Benjamin Pearcy and vocal supervisor Liz Caplan. Casting was by James Calleri.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!