Benj Pasek, Sarah Ruhl Among New Class of Tony Award Nominators

Tony Awards   Benj Pasek, Sarah Ruhl Among New Class of Tony Award Nominators
The 2019–2020 Nominating Committee consists of 54 industry members.
Benj Pasek and Sarah Ruhl
Benj Pasek and Sarah Ruhl

The Tony Awards has revealed the 54 theatre industry members who will serve on the 2019–2020 Nominating Committee.

New to the roster this season are composer Benj Pasek; playwrights Sarah Ruhl and Antoinette Nwandu; director-choreographer Warrren Adams; designers Jill BC Du Boff, John Kilgore, and Neil Patel; general manager Nina Lannan; performers Becky Ann Baker, Pun Bandhu, Kathleen Chalfant, and Michael Benjamin Washington; and tri-state area theatre leaders Christopher Burney, Kamilah Forbes, Jonathan McCrory, Jim Nicola, Natasha Sinha, Nigel Smith, and Michael Stotts.

Antoinette Nwandu Marc J. Franklin

Members serve three-year terms, attend every eligible Broadway production, and meet at the conclusion of the season to determine the nominations. A full calendar of Tony Awards events—including the nominations announcement and the 74th annual ceremony—will be revealed later.

See below for the full list.
· Warren Adams – Director/Choreographer/Producer*
· Emily Altman – Attorney/Foundation President
· Bob Alwine – Associate Producer, Goodspeed Musicals
· Becky Ann Baker – Actor*
· Pun Bandhu – Actor/Producer*
· Milly Barranger – Author/Educator
· Suzy BenzingerCostume Designer
· Brenda Braxton – Actor/Author
· Christopher Burney – Artistic Director, New York Stage and Film*
· Kathleen Chalfant – Actor*
· Dawn Chiang – Lighting Designer
· Eisa Davis – Actor/Writer/Singer/Song Writer
· Carmen de Lavallade – Choreographer
· Kristoffer Diaz – Playwright
· Jerry Dixon – Actor/Director
· Judith Dolan – Costume Designer
· Jill BC Du Boff – Sound Designer*
· John Erman – Director/Producer
· Tim Federle – Novelist/Playwright
· Peter Jay Fernandez – Actor/Educator
· Kamilah Forbes – Executive Producer, The Apollo Theatre*
· Scott Frankel – Composer
· Maija Garcia – Choreographer
· Anna Glass – Executive Director, Dance Theatre of Harlem
· Mason Granger – Director of Grants, Hearst Foundation
· Katori Hall – Playwright
· Ann Harada - Actor
· JoAnn Hunter – Actor/Choreographer
· Branden Jacobs-Jenkins - Playwright
· Michael Kantor – Executive Producer, American Masters
· Celia Keenan-Bolger – Actor
· John Kilgore – Sound Designer*
· Nina Lannan – General Manager*
· Priscilla Lopez – Actor
· Martyna Majok - Playwright
· John Mauceri – Conductor
· Jonathan McCrory – Director/Artistic Director, National Black Theatre*
· Sheila Nevins – President, HBO Documentary Films
· Jim Nicola – Director/Artistic Director, New York Theatre Workshop*
· Antoinette Nwandu – Playwright*
· Peter Parnell – Playwright/Librettist
· Benj Pasek – Songwriter*
· Neil Patel – Scenic Designer*
· Rosalba Rolón – Artistic Director, Pregones Theater
· Daphne Ruben-Vega – Actor
· Sarah Ruhl – Playwright*
· Don Scardino – Actor/Director
· Kimberly Senior – Freelance Director
· Natasha Sinha – Producer/Dramaturg/Director of Artistic Programs at Signature Theatre*
· Randy Skinner - Choreographer/Director
· Niegel Smith – Director/Performance Artist/Artistic Director, The Flea*
· Michael Stotts – Managing Director, Papermill Playhouse*
· Michael Benjamin Washington – Playwright/Actor*
· Mark Wendland – Scenic Designer

*Denotes new member

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!